62 students named Myrdis Walker Scholars

WEST COLUMBIA, S.C. -- Sixty-two Lexington Two students will be inducted into the Myrdis Walker Scholars program this month.

The program recognizes African-American students in eighth through 12th grades who have demonstrated academic excellence. An induction ceremony is set for February 19.


Eligible students must be identified as gifted, according to the South Carolina criteria, or have acquired a class rank in the top 15 percent of his/her high school class.  An additional goal of the program is to establish a peer support group of outstanding African-American student scholars in the district. The program is named for Myrdis Walker, who taught for many years at R. Earle Davis Elementary School in Lexington Two.


This year’s inductees from the district's four middle schools and two high schools include:

Northside Middle

Amiya Barnes

Nia Cannon

Karsyn Earle

Trinidi Elliott

Jonae Finnie

Anna Gillens

Akiyah Holden

Ashley Long

Samantha Mack

Cameryn Moody

Rhedyn Ware

Tylin White

Ziza Zinchak

Fulmer Middle

Markayla Anderson

Ayana Brown

Marvin Dyer

Shafi Harrison

Markel Johnson

Jasmine Jones

Ra'quel Lewis

Tashauna Mack

Makhi Parker

Ryan Price

Anthony Reddick

Ariana Watts

Lakayla White

Pine Ridge Middle

Isaiah Burton

Deloni Haygood

De'sean Henry

Cameron Marsh

Samari Pearson

Taylor Simon

Najee Simpson

Raven Taylor

Kalise Truss

Amaiyah Walker

Busbee Creative Arts Academy  

Bernard Brown

Kerringtin Cooper

Mason Darazs

Montrez Edwards

Cyniyah Feagins

Anareyah Ganzy

Johanna Garcia Feliu

Mya Guess

Benjamin Halter

Ashton Hudson

Tyler Huggins

K'Yona Mack

Xzavier Mathis

Naahzeikial Mays

Ashlee'Dream Ouattara

Ke'Sean Palmer

Xavier Pelzer

Alasia Wallace

Fucshia Wright

Airport High

Kayla Thomas

Brookland Cayce High

Joshua Arega

Aariana Darby

D'Aisha Edwards

Keevon Guess

Makayla Richardson

Layla Walker

The induction ceremony begins at 7 p.m. in the auditorium at the Lexington Two Innovation Center, 509 Bulldog Blvd. A reception will follow.